The $100 Solar Powered Boondocking Option: Costco Panels

We used Two 100 Watt Costco Solar Panels that they sell new in the box for just under $100.  I bought three.  Two to use and one as a spare.

Each panel comes with instructions and wiring.  The Airstream had an external connection for Solar on the Battery Box that holds the two 12 volt AGM Interstate Batteries that now can be purchased, also at Costco.

I am not an electrician.  I am not a Solar Installer for a Travel Trailer lot.  You connect the + to the + side of the battery and the - to the - of the battery with the +/- of the Solar Panel.  Diode is yellow when Charging and Green when batteries are charged.  I could run a long thin pair of wires to place the Solar Panel against a milk crate with some rocks added, and move it with the Sun.  Then I bought a second panel added it and charged faster.

I sold the 25 foot Airstream and gave them one panel and now have Solar on the Roof of the Oliver and the Airstream. Easier for sure... but the Costco panels I have two left and if I need them in the future... repeat what I did previously.  My rooftop Solar Panels provide us with all the 12 volt power we need.  If they do not keep up with our simple needs for minimal power... add a panel, lean it against a Milk Crate and back in business.

If anyone is curious I will try to find some photographs of our Portable Solar System for $100 and double it for $200. Better than the Honda that came with the Oliver that we never use.  No Air Conditioning or TV while Off the Grid Boondocking.  If you  NEED Air Conditioning and Television... look into an expensive Generator that needs to be hauled around with gasoline.

Been doing our own Solar since 2006.  I am a Neanderthal, but common sense and two thin wires was MAGIC to ME.  You may want to explain how you managed to ADD portable Solar for the price of a roll of wire and some wire connectors and go Human Bean.  Like me.   

• Like 2

travel trailer units for sale