Split: what are the basics?

BuckandConnie

• Moderators
I’m completely new to the Oliver lifestyle so all your ideas are greatly appreciated ? Do you have any suggestions about essentials for cooking? Pans, bowls etc etc??? Thank you

I would suggest you first determine what type of camping you are going to do.  Will it it be in formal campgrounds with electric, water and sewer or state and national parks that might just have electric?  Or will it be Boondocking on BLM land?  The reason I suggest thinking about it this way, is that we cook a little differently in each campground type.

Now you need to determine menus that will work for your diet and camping style.  For instance, I don’t like to cook breakfast on travel days.  Cereal or a bagel allows us to break camp faster and get on the road.  And if we have multiple travel days back to back, I’ll grill multiple chicken pieces, pork chops or hamburgers that can be heated up quickly in the microwave.  I’m not looking for Michelin meals while camping, so we keep it simple.

We very rarely cook inside as most everything is cooked outside on the gas grill and others OTTO's cook over a fire pit or charcoal grill.  I do carry a cast iron Dutch Oven sometimes for group meals, but it is heavier than I like for most trips.  Also grilling mats will protect you cookware from grills that are sometimes rusty or greasy. And the are easy to clean.

Now I that You have an idea of how an you are going to camp and cook, you should have an idea of what you might need.  After 44 years of marriage, we have too much stuff, so we moved some of it to the trailer and went camping.  Then we started a list of what we needed, what we wanted and what we had to have.  And even though we do that every camping trip, we still take too much, but we’re getting lighter all the time.