greetings from the swamp

Boudicca908

Greetings from the Swamp, where we seek to escape summer by meandering north!

I'm a life-long camper but I am a novice for trailer life and everything associated with towing and setup. I was very lucky to see an Oliver in person last year, and I'm in line for production of a '22 model -- not quite decided but leaning toward the Elite II because I prefer long trips (I've been tent camping for months at a time, traveling both by bicycle and by automobile in the past.) I think Boondocking might be fun. I love being in remote places, with dark skies and quiet. However, the smaller model might be more appropriate for me, due to easier towing, easier storage (I will have to pay to store, due to homeowner association rules) and also to lighten the load and hopefully result in a less expensive and more manageable truck. (I'm feeling somewhat doubtful about people telling me an F150 can easily handle a loaded Elite II -- but maybe I'll be surprised!)

I'm very glad that Oliver has this Forum -- I'll be working to educate myself, beginning with the truck I need -- I have plenty to learn and this looks like the place to be! 

Cheers all --

• Like 2

Oliver Elite II Twin (delivered 3/28/2022)   Tow Vehicle: Chevy Silverado 2500HD diesel "Estrella"

ALARCOFLGAIAKSKYMONENDOKSDTNWYDDDDDDmed.

Welcome to the forum. Are you by yourself or will you have a companion? For true boondocking ease, buy the smaller trailer!!! Without a doubt it will be MUCH easier to maneuver and a lot easier to find spots in Western parks, where many sites are simply too small for an LE2 to fit.